Four Types of Multiple Sclerosis

Four types of Multiple Sclerosis have been identified, relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS), primary-progressive MS (PPMS), secondary-progressive MS (SPMS), and progressive-relapsing MS. Each of these disease courses might be mild, moderate or severe.

Relapsing-Remitting (RRMS) – the most common disease course

Learn More About RRMS

Secondary Progressive MS (SPMS) – The name for this course comes from the fact that it follows after the relapsing-remitting course. Most people who are initially diagnosed with RRMS will eventually transition to SPMS.

Learn More About SPMS

Primary Progressive MS (PPMS) – is characterized by steadily worsening neurologic function from the beginning.

Learn More About PPMS

Progressive Relapsing MS (PRMS) –  the least common of the four disease courses — is characterized by steadily progressing disease from the beginning and occasional exacerbations along the way.

Learn More About PRMS